Monday, July 15, 2024

ISPOR Reveals Recipients of 2023 Awards for Health Economics and Outcomes Research

Similar articles

ISPOR, The Professional Society for Health Economics and Outcomes Research, has revealed the winners of its 2023 Health Economics and Outcomes Research (HEOR) Scientific and Leadership Awards.

These prestigious awards aim to foster and acknowledge excellence and exceptional achievements in the field of HEOR. The recipients will be honored at a HEOR Awards Celebration during ISPOR Europe 2023 on Monday, November 13.

The 2023 HEOR Award recipients include:

Avedis Donabedian Lifetime Achievement Award Recognizing individuals for their lifelong dedication to enhancing health outcomes. The 2023 recipient is:
Charles Phelps, PhD; University Professor and Provost Emeritus, University of Rochester; Pittsford, NY, USA
Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award Acknowledging a leader who has consistently provided broad and significant direction to the Society. The 2023 awardee is:
Shelby D. Reed, PhD; Professor, Duke University; Durham, NC, USA
Bernie O’Brien New Investigator Award Granted to an emerging professional displaying exceptional promise through their scholarly work in HEOR. The 2023 honoree is:
Jessica Roydhouse, PhD; Select Foundation Senior Research Fellow in Health Services Research, Menzies Institute for Medical Research, University of Tasmania; Tasmania, Australia
LMIC Health Economics and Outcomes Research Excellence Award Recognizing individuals in low- and middle-income countries (LMICs) for their outstanding achievements in HEOR. The 2023 recipient is:
Bach Xuan Tran, PhD; Vice Head of Department of Health Economics, Hanoi Medical University; Hanoi, Vietnam
Award for Excellence in Health Economics and Outcomes Research Methodology Honoring individuals for their remarkable research in HEOR methodology. The 2023 awardee is:
“Reproducibility of real-world evidence studies using clinical practice data to inform regulatory and coverage decisions;” Shirley V Wang, PhD; Associate Professor, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School; Boston, MA, USA, [Nat Commun. 2022; 13(1): 5126]
Award for Excellence in Health Economics and Outcomes Research Application Acknowledging individuals for their exceptional practical application of HEOR in healthcare decision-making. The 2023 recipient is:
“Developing and validating a machine-learning algorithm to predict opioid overdose in Medicaid beneficiaries in two US states: a prognostic modeling study;” Wei-Hsuan Lo-Ciganic, Ph.D.; Associate Professor, University of Florida Department of Pharmaceutical Outcomes & Policy; Gainesville, FL, USA, [Lancet Digit Health. 2022; 4(6): e455–e465]
Value in Health Paper of the Year Award Recognizing the outstanding research paper for Value in Health. The 2023 winner is:
“The History and Future of the ‘ISPOR Value Flower’: Addressing Limitations of Conventional Cost-Effectiveness Analysis;” Peter J Neumann, ScD; Director, Center for the Evaluation of Value and Risk in Health, Tufts Medical Center; Professor, Tufts University School of Medicine; Boston, MA, USA, [Value Health. 2022; 25(4): 558–565]
Value in Health Regional Issues Excellent Article Award Honoring the excellent article featured in Value in Health Regional Issues. The awarded article is:
“Developing a New Region-Specific Preference-Based Measure in East and Southeast Asia;” Takeru Shiroiwa, PhD; National Institute of Public Health Center for Outcomes Research and Economic Evaluation for Health; Saitama, Japan, [Value Health Reg Issues. 2022; 32: 62-69]

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Latest article